All Natural Cold Remedy

I hate being sick! Beau and I have had a summer cold this week and it has been miserable. I have felt so guilty when Beau has brought over a toy or book and I just sit there with no energy to even talk. Not gonna lie… we have seen Elmo way too much this week!

For the past few years, I’ve been chewing raw garlic to kick a cold, but recently just read about giving a concoction of raw garlic, honey, and water to toddlers to help boost their immune system. For older kids and adults, you can add raw apple cider vinegar to the mix for even more immune power!

Here’s what I do:

1. Use a garlic press, grater, or finely chop 1 clove of garlic

2.  Add 1 tablespoon of raw honey

3. Add 2 tablespoons of raw apple cider vinegar (skip for little ones)

4. Dilute with filtered water.

Mix it all in a small glass or container and drink up. I use a spoon to give it to Beau. Let me tell ya… this stuff is awful and I’m a big baby about it. Make sure to take this after having something to eat and definitely have a glass of water or milk to wash it all down. I also like to have something to eat right after to get the taste out. Beau gets a cup of milk and a snack. You can take this a few times a day until your are feeling all better!

I plan to make this pickled garlic to have on hand in this coming cold and flu season!

We also use Maty’s All Natural Chest Rub- this for me and this for Beau to help with coughing. I have also put a few drops of eucalyptus essential oil on a rag and hung in the shower and then take a big breath in from the damp rag to help with the coughing and clear up phlegm.

What do you use when you have a cold or your little one has a runny nose and cough?

Leave a Reply

