My Dad

Most people who blog have an audience in mind when they write. For me, I write for my family and friends. Truthfully though, I always wrote with my dad in mind. He was one of the only subscribers I have, and I know he read every post. He would often email me after a post and say how interesting it was, or how proud of me he was. He was the person that was always educating me about nutrition and sending me articles to read about various things that he knew I was interested in. Some of the last emails I have from him are articles about natural childbirth, nutrition during pregnancy, and co-sleeping. I know he cared a lot!

This is the first post I’m writing that he wont see. I’m heartbroken.

I’ve thought a lot about what I want to say about my dad. I loved my dad so much. I’ve learned a lot from him. I’ve always wanted him to be proud of me and to approve of what I’m doing. He’s always been there for me and I always knew he loved me.

But, this past year he has been completely absent and disconnected from his family. I got angry at him and decided that I wouldn’t talk to him unless he initiated things first. I really wanted my dad to be around, but I was stubborn and didn’t reach out because I thought he should be the one to reach out to me. I kept thinking, “he’ll come around eventually” or “he’s just in a bad place right now, but he will come out of it”.

That didn’t happen. He died suddenly and unexpectedly from a heart attack yesterday.

If you love someone, don’t take their time on earth for granted. If you have something to say to someone, don’t put it off. You can’t count on tomorrow being here.

My heart is full of so much sorrow but I have complete faith and trust in God that he will provide peace and comfort for my family.

I Love You, Dad!

6 Comments on “My Dad”

  1. Julia Sanders says:

    So sorry to hear about your dad. God is with you.

  2. Gina Meek says:

    I hadn’t cried since yesterday until I read this…..Gee thanks alot! Love you and I love your dad and I know how you feel.

  3. Martin Bush says:

    I worked with your dad about 3 years ago and have continued to talk to him in business and as an occational friend. He was a really good man and I will miss him, He was always upbeat and made you feel like today was the best day to be alive. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  4. Dale Hanlon says:

    I had the pleasure of working with your Dad.. Through many conversations, we figured out that we had met before, in college!!. He took the time out of his travels in April to stop by my booth at Wimberley to re-introduce himself. That speaks volumes about the kind of “man” your father was. I was shattered when I was notified of his passing. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. I will miss my friend

  5. Tatjana says:

    I never met you Dad in person, but i worked with him in a virtual team. I am located in Czech Republic and i could always feel his positive energy and his smile. I am sure he is reading this blog and watching over you, just from a different place…..God is with you….

  6. Chris Wilson says:

    I worked with you Father up until the time of his unfortunate passing. I remember one day talking to him at a farewell gathering for a co-worker and we started talking about our faith. Based on our conversation I know that he is saved and he is looking down at you smiling sitting at the right hand of God.

    Your family is in my prayers.

    God bless

    Chris


Leave a Reply

