Back to Cooking!

 

Hi friends! So, I was temporarily out of the kitchen for a while but I am so glad to be feeling better and back to cooking. I experienced a month of constant morning sickness shortly after I found out that I was pregnant. I could not stand to think about or be around pretty much all food stuffs. I could not go to the grocery store, or cook, or really do much of anything. All I wanted, when I did feel like eating, was mashed potatoes, toast, chocolate chip cookies, and lots of sleep. We mostly eat vegetable based dishes but I will say that I have increased my protein the past few months… except I absolutely cannot stand the smell or taste of chicken. There has been no chicken in our household in the past few months and I don’t expect there to be any time soon. So, here are a few dishes that I have made that are super easy and healthy. I wanted to fix meals that would make a large batch to freeze half for later so that I don’t have to cook as often and some side dishes to keep in the fridge for an easy snack. Check em out!

 

Butternut Squash, Chickpea, Lentil Stew

I will admit that this soup looks pretty gross but it was actually really tasty. The flavors work so well together. And a great bonus is we got to use the butternut squash that our brother-in-law grew in his own backyard! I used yellow lentils instead of red since that is what I had in the pantry.  http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/squash_chickpea_red_lentil_stew.html 

 

Ground Bison, Pasta Sauce, and Whole Wheat Spaghetti

Spaghetti is a pretty easy go to meal when you don’t feel like putting a lot of energy into dinner. To get some protein in for the week, we use either ground bison or organic grass-fed ground beef. Cook some organic pasta sauce and whole wheat spaghetti. Brown the meat, simmer the sauce, cook pasta until al dente. Add a spinach side salad and there ya go!

 

Split Pea Soup

Again, another yucky looking soup but we love this meal! I saw this on Barefoot Contessa and decided to try it. It is so easy to make and you can freeze half of the batch for another week. Serve with some warm bread and there’s your dinner.  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/parkers-split-pea-soup-recipe/index.html 

 

Broccoli Crunch Salad

There are so many different versions of this cold broccoli salad. I don’t ever measure things out for this recipe so I estimate that I use 1-2 heads of broccoli florets, half a small purple onion diced, 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds, 1 cup chopped cashews, 1 cup rasins or dried cranberries, about 1/2 cup or so of Brianna’s Poppyseed salad dressing. Mix it all up and enjoy for days!

 

Three Bean Salad with Gouda

I first made this salad for Easter this past year but I made this again recently because it is so super easy to make and so yummy. http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/3006

 

Do you have any easy meals that you have made recently? I hope you try these out and let me know what you think. I actually have a lot more recipes to share with you but I will save those for another post. And since this blog is all about things I make… well I am making a baby, so of course I will be sharing more about my experience with that as well!

 

 

Leave a Reply

