20 Minute Summer Quinoa Salad

I just made the yummiest Quinoa salad and have to tell you all about it! It was 3:00pm and I was getting very hungry. We didn’t have anything prepared to eat and we are getting to the end of our groceries for the week. So, I looked around the fridge and pantry and decided to throw together a Quinoa salad with sauteed veggies and some feta cheese. I think this is one of the best dishes I have created so far! I’m sure someone else out there in the world has created this dish, it might even be in a cookbook! But, I came up with this on the spot and didn’t measure anything out, so I will do my best to give a recipe…. because I know you will want to make this! I started at 3:00pm and was scarfing it into my face at 3:20-3:25.

 

1. Turn on some great music as you soak 1 cup of quinoa in water. I chose Bon Iver, that was the mood I was in! FYI- Quinoa is a complete protein source among plant foods and is a a good source of dietary fiber, phosphorous, magnesium, and iron. It is gluten-free and easy to digest.

2. In a fine mesh colander, drain and rinse quinoa and add to a pot of 1 1/4 cups of liquid (water, chicken or veggie stock) and bring to simmer. Cover and simmer on low-medium heat for 20 minutes.

3. Leaving the quinoa alone to simmer, dice half of a yellow onion and add to a pan with about 2 Tbl of olive oil on medium heat.

4. Chop 4 oz. of mushrooms and add to onions to saute. I drizzled a bit more olive oil and stirred. (I would add more mushrooms if you have more).

5. Once it looks like onions are becoming translucent and the mushrooms are good and tender, add 2-3 handfuls of fresh spinach leaves. A drizzle of olive oil and a few stirs and allow all to continure to cook.

6. Dice up some tomato and toss in when spinach has started to wilt. I had some local red and yellow cherry tomatoes but I’m sure you could use whatever tomato you have.

7. By now, 20 minutes should have passed and the quinoa is probably ready. Add quinoa to pan of veggies. Stir.

8. Add some crumbled feta…however much you want. I added about 1/4 cup or so. This would probably be good with parmesan if you don’t have feta.

9. Top with finely chopped basil, a sprinkle of garlic powder,  and salt and pepper to taste.

That’s it, that’s all!

Sorry for the shadows, I use my iPhone for pictures!

 

 

5 Comments on “20 Minute Summer Quinoa Salad”

  1. Kristi Ferguson says:

    I seriously cannot wait to try this! Nice work!

  2. Leah Mann says:

    1. Bon Iver is PERFECT cooking music! Love him!
    2. This sounds so yummy! I can’t wait to try it! (Remind me sometime to share a quinoa recipe that I created.) 🙂

  3. kallie says:

    I love when you share recipes… I might have to change this one up a little Josh and I don’t like mushrooms!! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

